The body governing football in Africa, CAF have released the top ten players for the African footballer of the Year Award.

The body released the list of players on its official Twitter account on Monday, July 11th, 2022. Bayern Munich’s Sadio Mane, Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah and Manchester City’s Riyad Mahrez are the leading contenders for the award which will be going down on Thursday, July 21st, 2022.

Other players on the list of nominees include Karl Ekambi, Vincent Aboubakar, Sebastian Haller, Naby Keita,Achraf Hakimi, Edouard Mendy, Kalidou Koulibaly.

Other Award Categories;

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

Tiago Azulao (Petro Atletico)

Karim Konate (ASEC Mimosas)

Aliou Dieng (Al Ahly)

Ali Maaloul (Al Ahly)

Percy Tau (Al Ahly)

Mohamed Sherif (Al Ahly)

Mohamed El Shenawy (Al Ahly)

Achraf Dari (Wydad Athletic Club)

Yahya Jabrane (Wydad Athletic Club)

Zouheir El Moutaraji (Wydad Athletic Club)

Young Player of the Year (Men)

Dango Ouattara (Burkina Faso & Lorient)

Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg)

Kamaldeen Sulemana (Ghana & Rennes)

Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Metz)

Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)

Coach of the Year (Men)

Carlos Queiroz (Egypt)

Pitso Mosimane (Al Ahly)

Tom Saintfiet (The Gambia)

Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)

Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

National Team of the Year

Burkina Faso





Club of the Year

Petro Atletico (Angola)

RS Berkane (Morocco)

Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

Orlando Pirates (South Africa)

Loading spinner