The Electoral Commission declared NRM candidate Andrew Muwonge the winner of the hotly contested Kayunga LC5 seat in results announced on Friday morning.

The Kayunga Returning Officer, Jennifer Kyobutungi, announced that having got 31,830 votes against Nakweede’s 31,380, NRM’s Muwonge had beaten her closest rival with just 450 votes.

NUP’s Nakweede protested the outcome of the election, insisting that there was manipulation.

This followed more protests from social media

Loading spinner